The page4 image management

Images are an important design tool of your website. In contrast to many web builders, page4 has an image management, which you can access directly in the main menu under “Images“. All images uploaded from your computer to your website are stored in page4's image manager. There are a few things you should keep in mind.

The elements of image management

The dialog looks a little different than our new dialogs, because we haven't completely changed this area yet. The dialog is always as large as possible and adapts to the browser like the page management.

folder structure

On the left side is the main folder of the image management and below it the possibility to create own folders. This enables you to sort your pictures. The advantage of this is that you will find the right pictures much faster. This folder structure is also displayed in the image selection dialog and you can restrict the selection of images using this structure.

The main file

All images you uploaded are first invited to the main folder. If you have created your own folders, you can move images to these folders. It's best to sort all uploaded images into folders so you can access them much more easily.

Your own folders

Create folder
A green plus sign on the left side. This adds folders. Click on the plus sign. A dialog opens in which you can assign a name. As soon as you close the dialog with ok, the new folder is displayed in a list.

 

move folder
Each list entry has 3 icons and the name of the folder with a () behind it.
With the first icon in front you can handle and move the list entry if there is more than one folder. Moving is done with the mouse. Just touch, hold the mouse and move. If you have at least two folders, you can make a folder into a subfolder by moving it to the right with the mouse button pressed. So you can order your image collection like a navigation.


Change order names ändern
With the pen you can change the name of the folder at any time.

 

folder löschen
You delete a folder with the trash. However, only empty folders can be deleted. If you click on a trash from a folder containing images, a warning message will appear. A second way to delete an empty folder is to touch the entry and move it to the large trash below with the mouse button pressed.

Move images to folder

To load images into a folder, they must be available in the large tray on the right. Touch the image with the mouse and drag it with pressed mouse button to the desired folder and release the image. It is removed from the tray and moved to the folder. As already mentioned, there is a parenthesis behind the folder name. This displays the number of images in the folder. If you want to move more than one picture at a time, just click with the mouse on the corresponding pictures. Each activated image is highlighted. A further click removes the mark. All marked images can then be touched and moved with the mouse. The names of all the images you have just grouped together are displayed in an area that is visible when you move. Once you are over the folder (this is indicated by highlighting the folder in blue), release the images.
Tip: If you want to move more images from the folder than you want to leave in the folder, you can simply highlight the images you don't want to move. Then click on the link “Invert“ at the bottom of the dialog. This will invert the selection and you can then move the correctly marked images. If you want to move all pictures, you can select all pictures with a click on “Alle“ and then move them.

Möch if you move pictures from a separate folder to another separate folder, then you click with the mouse on the folder from which you want to move pictures. Now only the pictures from the active folder are displayed in the tray and you can select and move the desired pictures.

Find unused images

page4 recognizes which pictures of you are used on the individual pages. In the image management there is a link „Unused“ and a link „Used“. If you click on the link “Unused“, all images that are unused will be marked in the tray. Since only the pictures of one folder are displayed in the tray, you have to click on the respective folders and then on “Unused“ to check which pictures in the individual folders are unused. The link “Use“ does the exact opposite and has the same effect as if you would invert the selection of all unused images

important: If you include images with the icon provided by text editor, it may be that page4 does not recognize that this image is being used, since we have to use a different technique here. It is also possible that images that you use in your blog may not be recognized as used, because the same problem exists here.
<
Important: If you delete an image from the administration that is used on one of your pages, then the image can no longer be displayed. The content elements only link to the image management and depend on the fact that all used images are available there. The cache image of an image that has been deleted will also be removed by page4, so that your visitors cannot see a yellowed image.

 

Reset
With the reset link you disable all markers in the image management.

Upload new image

You can upload images from your computer directly from the administration. Simply click on the link “Upload new image“ and the familiar dialog for uploading images will open. All newly uploaded images are automatically loaded into the main folder. It is currently not possible to upload images directly to your own folders.

speed optimisation

As we have customers who use well over 10,000 images on their website, it is of course important that all page4 functions work at sufficient speed even when a lot of performance is required. In order for our image management to cope with such large amounts of data, we have limited the simultaneous display of images in the tray to 250 and created the possibility of creating as many folders as desired. At the bottom of the dialog there is a selection box above the links. This displays which and how many images are currently in the clipboard. For example, if you have 135 pictures in total and all in the tray, then there is 1-135. 1,000 pictures and all in the tray are there 1-250 and if you click on the selection box, there are further entries, labeled 251-500, 501-750 and 751 to 1,000. If you select the entry 501-750, the corresponding pictures are displayed in the tray. This concept has the advantage that the image management is very fast, no matter how many images you have in total and that you can still view all images very quickly. The disadvantage is that the links for selecting images (All, Invert, Used, Unused“ can only be applied to the current storage. For example, if you have loaded the pictures 251-500 with the selection box and now search which pictures are unused and 35 pictures are marked for you, then this are 35 pictures of the 250 which are displayed. If you now select images 501-750, the selection will be canceled because there are new images in the tray. So you have to complete all actions before you put new pictures in the clipboard, otherwise you will lose all markers.

Save and Close

All actions you perform in image management are performed and saved immediately. Pictures you shuffle are immediately shuffled. Images that you move are moved immediately. Therefore the dialog has no save button but only a button to close it. You should be particularly careful when you're loosing. Images that have been deleted once cannot be restored. It is also important to keep all images on your local computer.
<
Tip: If you have accidentally deleted an image, this is no problem if you still have the image on your computer and the name of the image is identical to the deleted image. So if page4 did not change the image name because it was too long or contained special characters. Just re-upload the image and if the image name is identical, the individual content elements can restore the link to the image and display it again.